Sunday, 6 April 2014

Final: Sri Lanka beat India and won the 2014 WC Title

Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets with 13 balls remaining against India in the 2014 ICC T20 World Cup final match Played at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka on April 6, 2014.  Kumar Sangakkara scored a superb 52* to help Sri Lanka clinch the T20 WC, 2014 by 6 wickets against India. They chased down 130 with 13 balls to spare.

India - 130/4 (20 overs)
Sri Lanka - 134/4 (17.5 overs)
Sri Lanka won by Six Wickets
Click here for the full Scorecard
Click here for the Video Highlights

Sri Lanka invited India to bat after they won the toss.  Sri Lankan bowlers dominated from the very first first ball of the innings. India seemed to be coasting along towards a target of 160. Yuvraj struggled big time, and all the gains accrued by Kohli were wasted. The in-form batsman was starved of strike as Yuvi and Dhoni failed to put bat on ball. Rahane fell cheaply, Rohit and Kohli consolidated but the big finish never came.

Ever since Yuvraj Singh ate up some crucial deliveries, India were always short of a par score on a very good batting surface. Mohit Sharma got a wicket with his first ball and removed Kusal Perera. Dilshan steadied the ship for a while with Mahela before throwing his wicket away.

Sangakkara combined well with Mahela at the crease and just when the match was swinging in Sri Lanka's favour, the latter hit one straight to the fielder to bring India back into the game. Thirimanne struggled for a while and raised hopes of a Indian comeback but Sangakkara held his nerve and saved his best for the final of the tournament and indeed he has signed off in style with Mahela.


Post a Comment

Copyright © . Cricket Updates - Posts · Comments
Theme Template by BTDesigner · Powered by Blogger